About the World Championships

The Road World Championships (Worlds) is cycling’s pinnacle event, held annually in an international city as chosen by the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) through a competitive bidding process similar to the Olympic Games.

Worlds is a nine-day event, featuring 12 Championship races for Elite Men and Women, Under 23 Men and Junior Men and Women. It is a rare opportunity for the athletes to compete for their country, just as they do during the Olympic Games. Athletes compete in three different disciplines including the traditional Road Race, the Individual Time Trial and the recently introduced Team Time Trial. World Champions are crowned in each discipline.

Worlds is truly one of the great global sporting events. It is covered by more than 500 media outlets from around the world and is broadcast live to a global audience of more than 300 million people.

UCI World Road Cycling Championships At a Glance

  • September 19-27, 2015
  • 450,000 onsite spectators from the Richmond region and across the globe over the course of the nine-day event
  • TV audience in the hundreds of millions
  • 1000 athletes
  • Tremendous tourism and economic development opportunity for the region


Recent & Upcoming Hosts

2000 Plouay, France
2001 Lisbon, Portugal
2002 Zolder and Hasselt, Belgium
2003 Hamilton, Canada
2004 Verona, Italy
2005 Madrid, Spain
2006 Salzburg, Austria
2007 Stuttgart, Germany
2008 Varese, Italy
2009 Mendrisio, Switzerland
2010 Melbourne and Geelong, Australia
2011 Copenhagen, Denmark
2012 Limburg, Netherlands
2013 Florence, Italy
2014 Ponferrada, Spain